hi

hi
Showing posts with label seattle. Show all posts
Showing posts with label seattle. Show all posts

Monday, September 26, 2016

eggs, bacon, toast, and cartoons

 Looks like every five days is the norm now. I don't think I will keep this as a daily blog, I just am not invested in it like I used to be. But I will try to keep it at multiple times a week because I like having the record available. Soo... Thursday! I worked. Did a good job at it. Things are slowing down, so there are fewer rooms to turn every day, though there has been plenty of people coming in and out.

Friday was date day!
 And the weather made it so I wore layers instead of a cute dress. I parked in Bainbridge Island and Christa gave me a lift to the ferry. Hurray, no paying for parking!

I walked across and looked at the Kanken backpacks. Totes are nice but I kinda want a good backpack for overnight trips now that I'm going overnight in Seattle with more regularity. But the cheapest Kanken is just a bit too expensive and seems just a bit small. It's cute though. I know investing is good sense, because a cheap bag is a bag that'll fall apart and have to be bought again and at that point you've spent more than one good bag. But I still want to look around. I put the call out on Facebook and got some suggestions. The Poler looks nice! Actually, I think I'll....whooo I went onto Zappos and they had the bag that I wanted for twelve bucks less than the store's site AND since it's Zapoos, it's free shipping. Score! Cute blue simple backpack, here I come. Or rather, come to me.

And I just paid my PUD, even though it's not due till the 10th. I have the money now so might as well. Now I don't have to think about it for a whole month! I've been slowly getting ahead. I have KCU ping me when my balance is under a certain amount and I haven't had a ping in a while, so that feels good.

Oh so yeah, I looked at backpacks in downtown Seattle and didn't get any. At Nordstrom Rack there were some super cute Betsey Johnson sunglasses marked way down. Just my style: round, a bit too big, shiny, make me look like a cartoon character. And NR has a makeup section and man if only I could justify getting more lipstick because it was marked waaay down. Tho I got a better tinted moisturizer (also discounted, holla) because the one I've been using just...it applies weird and clogs my skin. Anyhoo, happy to have a better one! That cost the same because of mark down! Whooo!

Then, because I'm the type of lazy that hates figuring out how the bus works, I walked to Capitol Hill. And hung out in Cal Anderson park. I read, I relaxed, I looked cool in my new sunglasses, I watched people play Pokemon Go. Lots of players. Lots of people wandering in circles and going to the same spot over and over. I even chatted with one person for a bit. How nice!

Then John came home and I went over to his place (he lives two blocks from the park). We had dinner in and in the morning he made omelettes, bacon, and toast. And tea. And we watched Futurama, then he put on his Michigan State garb, because he is a sports goober for his school's team, and I put on that blue and yellow striped dress I just got at Goodwill because it matches the team colors of the Wolverines, and we went to a Michigan sports bar (apparently that's a thing???) to see them play. I was curious to see the fight song in action, and I like John's company, and he bought me fries, so I can sit and watch Football. He explained the rules and now it makes so much more sense. Still not into it, but it was pretty great to be in a crowded bar and to have everyone sing in unison when they scored, and to have two people with cowbells, and there was a dog named Louie that was very sweet. Not a bad time at all. Afterwards we got a photobooth photo strip. Yay for momentos! I like photobooths. And we played some skeeball. I was very bad at it.

Then it was ferry back home time. Goodbyes were said, and off I went. Christa picked me up, and Bodi was once again squealing because he was so happy to see me. I swung by Central Market on the way home, and got home at a not unreasonable hour.
 Then it was back to work on Sunday! Breakfast, a few room turns, a fluff. We are back off tag teaming, now that it's a bit slower. I did a bit more food shopping. Still forgot to get raisin bran.

Work again today, because that's how work works. A turn, a fluff, the powder room, and the cobwebs complete with many spiders I had to evict. Eeek.
Then back home, a nap, watched part of the debate and felt my brain liquify.

I got miso soup packets and I made udon noodles with that and an egg and some tapatio and damn I'm really getting a hang of these noodles!!

Monday, July 25, 2016

grand days out

Oh! So much to catch up on.

So I had a lovely weekend in Seattle. I headed out at around 3ish, which gave me ample time to breakfast and doze. I parked in a garage in Capitol Hill which was surprisingly affordable for 24 hours. Only had a little bit of traffic at the usual Tacoma intersection. I'd rather drive to the ferry, park there, and walk across. But I was going to Averie's party after so I drove around. But first a date with John. I like him. He's into watches, movies, travel, circus acrobatics. And he makes a damn good cocktail. We went to see a movie from SIFF's Noir festival: The Seventh Victim. It's odd to watch older movies because they have such a different language for how editing and stories play out. It was good though. Surprisingly dark.

And in the morning (I stayed over, oooohhhh!) (and it was so hard to sleep because cities are so loud and light!!) we got breakfast sammies at the farmer's market. John got a flat of various berries and some farm fresh eggs.

These crust punks were throwing glass bottles at a cement seating area, and they shattered and like...how much of an asshole do you have to be to think that is okay? And the type of people who throw full whole bottles of alcohol aren't the types you want to confront, they might punch you in the throat. Uhg.

John and I parted ways at 1. I met up with Mariel and her boyfriend Sanouk at Starbucks. We had a quick coffee and catch up and chat. Mariel looks so great! We're both wishy washy on attending our HS reunion.

After I walked down to Top Pot and got a raspberry thumbprint and powdered doughnut. I listened to two Amazon or Microsoft engineers ramble about very typical engineer things. Once I was sugared up on doughnut, I returned to my car and headed off to the beach. Parking was a nightmare and I got a spot way down south from the beach, then spent half an hour wandering up and down trying to find Averie and her shindig. Eventually ran into Muchim who was able to direct me to Averie! But at that point in the day it was time for me to head home. Hung out for a little bit though, and gave some hugs.

There was some construction I got stuck in for a little bit, but afterwards it wasn't such a bad drive. I didn't bother with the ferry. I'd rather spend more time in my car and save the money. I got some food stuffs at Central Market on the way back. I'm such a sucker for musubi.

Got back at 9. Drew. Got to bed at midnight.

Restless night sleep because I thought I hadn't paid my electric bill. I was in that weird half sleep state where you can't just pull yourself out to check you did pay it (I did).

We did seven turns at work, and it went pretty quick. The tag teaming + 1 on laundry and beds makes for fast turn around. I did cookies and folded laundry too. At home I took a nap and a dip in the canal. Now I'm tired again.

I so very narrowly avoided a massive sunburn. I got pink but no hurt.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

need a second weekend for my way too long weekend

So behind! I had two very busy days and at the end of either of them I didn't want to sum up I just wanted to go to sleep so here we go!

Saturday

  • Got up early and packed up things for parents, things for the final bee class, things for Dungeons and Dragons. Lots of things.
  • Hustled over to Seabeck
  • Stopped by bank on the way and took out money
  • Gave money to Mom & Dad paying off a couple loans, whoo go me!
  • I also gave them chocolate and lapsang souchoung, which they liked
  • Got my bee hat and hustled back to Silverdale!
  • Final bee class was a bit cold so the bees were not able to be opened till the very end, still we saw a dead hive and the frames of foundation and it was pretty cool. One hive was able to be opened and with my veil I was able to get really close to the hive and bees. I saw a little baby one wriggle free from its comb! So cute!
  • Ran a Target errand and then just went back to Seabeck
  • Had noodles in the sun and talked with Ma & Pa some more, then took off for Port Townsend
  • DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS WAS INTENSE! And so much fun.
  • My character died but was resurrected. A ton of us died, but many were fine to reroll characters. There were a few people missing and it was more manageable, though it might have been an easier final fight if we had more help. Still, it was epic. I drew and we stayed till it was done so I got home at 2ish.
Sunday
  • Date day!
  • Got up early but not horribly early and felt pretty fine all day but the cold brew Storyville iced latte I had at 1pm helped a bunch
  • Got to the Bainbridge terminal and parked no problem and got on the ferry with plenty of time to spare
  • Arrived and got coffee and met John (who I met at Hateful Eight, he sat next to me and shared from his flask) up near Pike's Place Market. He bought some tea and we got salmon sandwiches and ate them in the viewing area and we chatted
  • TURNS OUT HE IS AN ACROBAT like wow that's so cool!
  • We went to see this circus and acrobat variety show that he knew (and acrobats with) some of the people in. It was really cool! There was a unicycle act with the gals and at one point one was on one of their shoulders, and that person was on the third's shoulders and they UNICYCLED LIKE THAT!!! And some other stunts that were just, wow.
  • Hula hoopers, this guy doing cool lasso tricks, people that hang from bars and do intense things, contortionists, a dance troop that wasn't so great, kid circus people. Just lots of, oh a wire act where she did splits ON THE WIRE! Yeah, lots of cool stuff. A really great demonstration and variety. John explained the two ways to hang from the top of your feet on a bar. Neither sounded fun.
  • Afterwards we had a nice little drink and got to know each other. We talked Ada Lovelace, clock making, type in comics, silly putty, making things. Just a wide variety of topics. He's a cool dude and he dropped me off at the ferry so I didn't have to track down a bus. Hope I can see him again soon but he has weekends and I anticipate not having weekends SOOO. We shall see. But yeah, a really nice date.
  • Got the ferry back, swung by Central Market, got home right at midnight which isn't bad at all.

Monday
  • Woke up then lay in bed for a few hours
  • Scrubbed the upstairs and downstairs showers, toilets, and floors
  • Also did the upstairs sink
  • Scrubbed all the downstairs linoleum
  • Swept out the dog room
  • Accumulated and then took the trash to the dump
  • Recycling too
  • Basically upped the clean level though there's still so much clutter
  • I'm hellbent on getting this house to next level nice
  • I need some boxes to put out of date books in so that I can clear up some more space
  • Food, internet, drew comic, relaxed, listened to a bunch of podcasts
  • Five day weekend is OVER now to work for three days, have two days, work two, three days off, work three...
  • Kinda want to go to Seattle next weekend too hmm

Saturday, January 2, 2016

a story of boys and hankies

Have y'all enjoyed that cookie piece? I like having it up there. Anyway, on Wednesday I dropped it off with boss, who commissioned it.

I got up, put on a dress and tights and medium sweater and long gray coat and boots and did my makeup and set out to have a day of fun! I left enough time to swing by the office and drop off the piece.

And so I must sadly mention that that may have been my last visit to the office. I was laid off. But understandably so. Need more clients to have more work for me. Hopefully I'll get a call in a week saying "we got one!!" but for now, I continue as if I need to get a new job. Sad, but that's how it goes sometimes. So I saw Boss and Bodi and we hugged.

I caught the ferry with time to spare and chilled. The Bainbridge crossing really flies by I feel. By the time I've had a hot dog and taken a few selfies, we are already in Seattle and I'm disembarking. Chris would be a bit late to meet me for coffee, so I took my take taking pictures of buildings. It was a nice clear day, cold sure but I had a good overcoat and scarf. The lady barista at Storyville coffee was utterly darling. I complimented her brows and she seemed very joyed by what I said. The dude baristas had a vibe of "what are these girls talking about?" but brows are important, yo.

My coffee was tasty and Chris arrived and we caught up, I was finally able to give him this Battles letterpress poster that I've had forever. I got it as a freebie from Karen when she interned at Hammerpress, and I've just consistently neglected to get it to him. Till now! It's a cool poster, but I don't listen to Battles. Chris does. It was just a brief meeting, as he had plans later and I had plans a bit later too. At the coffee shop I realized I had dropped my hankie somewhere between the ferry and coffee. Bummer, because that hankie belonged to Grandpa Joe and had an embroidered S on it.

Parted ways with Chris and walked over to Kinokuniya. A nice walk on a nice day. I met up with Cameron, who I met at the Dir En Grey show and we hung out for a bit. A little meet up. Nice fella. We had takoyaki and talked things and cooking and travel (he's a Canadian!). And had some bubble tea. And he was so nice he dropped me off downtown. I was prepared to walk, but he dropped me off.

I was going to see Hateful Eight with Marcus, but he was unable to get a ticket due to it selling out. So I went solo. I got there early and was pretty near the start of the line. Got a seat in the near center of the first row at the start of the upwards seating. I sat next to one person, but the person who came into the row after me sat one away. It's a sold out show dude, sit next to someone!

But because that spot was open, a late comer was able to take a really good spot instead of being stuck in some corner place. I got to talking to this guy (there's a lot of men mentioned in this post) next to me, and he was a good dude to chat to, though not when the movie was going of course. He shared a bit of his flask of bourbon with me (which wasn't a big flask, and it wasn't full) which was a nice way to punctuate the movie.

So The Hateful Eight was pretty dang cool! And I went all the way to Seattle to see the 70mm showing. Very stellar. It had an intermission and an overture. Great performances all around, beautiful sets, and yes gore and violence because hello Tarantino movie. Yeah it was great. Well worth the travel, and I had a good day all around so that was worth it.

After the screening, the guy I sat next to and I got to talking. His name is John. He walked me down to the ferry, because the conversation continued to go well. Well I invited him to walk with me, he didn't follow. I mentioned that I had lost my embroidered hankie and that we should be on the look out for it. I even retraced my steps to the ferry. And there at Madison and just past Alaskan Way where I stopped to take a picture of a building....there it was! Barely stepped on! Just there! And I was able to show John the embroidery that PROVED it was the hankie I mentioned and not just some random Seattle hankie.

Really says something about Seattle trash collection when that stays put for eight hours.

I gave John my number and said adieu. Talked to two MORE dudes on the ferry ride back. They had the Hateful Eight programs so I knew we had a topic starter. They both had wedding rings, so I wasn't about that. I just like talking to people. Turns out the programs have different centerfolds. I'm really happy with my Demian Bichir centerfold.

My car was iced over, so I had to crank the heat and break out the scraper. I drove steady and slow back home. It was below freezing. I don't know if I've driven in 27 degrees since Colorado?

New Years Eve was pretty mellow. Talked to Celia a bit. Slept in. Tidied up a little. When the clock rolled over, I sat on the seawall and lit fireworks. Roman candles and sparklers mostly. One bottlerocket. Found out I can make this gaming meetup on the 2nd. I'm looking forward to that!

New Years Day started with a hike! Ma and Pa were on their way to meet up and Celia and I didn't have much time to get clean and dressed and on our way. Corbie was taking himself for a walk, and showed up on the driveway as we were headed out (I carpooled with Celia). Met Ma and Pa at the Overpass Lot and we went in the van together to Gibbs Lake. The loop trail took about two hours, and it was a nice path. Some ups and downs, but nothing too strenuous. Plenty of frost pushed up through the ground, and cool fluffy frost too. A nice brisk start to the new year. Post hike, we ate at the 101 Brewery and Cafe. I had fish and chips, there were bacon garlic fries ordered for the table, and we ate heartily. Yum num. One of those meals consumed at just the right time, because I haven't needed to eat again since.

I picked up some mail from Ma and Pa and we returned to Pulali. I chilled for a bit, got the new episode of Sherlock, and later in the evening went over to Celia's and we watched Sherlock! It was awesome. Fun how it went back in time with all the awesome production values. Celia is great to watch Sherlock with.

And now I'm super congested! I was doing really well. Cat allergies. Boo.

So now it's 2016, how 'bout that?

Monday, August 31, 2015

rain or shine or wind or power outages, you can't stop love!

I'm super tired and as much as I want to relate the events, like...they were shared by so many people! But every day is shared by many people. I guess I don't feel so exclusive in my experiences in the past few days.

Well Averie and Muchim are MARRIED!! My family has grown so much this past year.

I woke up to the power being out due to a storm and wind, so I packed up and hauled butt to Seabeck to get ready. The roads were awful getting to Seabeck. Branches flying, wind blowing, wet roads. One of my worst driving experiences. I was still in my pajamas so quickly I showered and ate breakfast. The power flickered as I did my makeup. We were a bit late getting out, but not too late. I had a cute raincoat so I was prepared for the weather. It brightened up when we got across the water into Seattle. The wedding venue was a family property on the water. Oh! We picked up Nathan and Helen at their hotel. Nate is mobil with his foot in a foot. Poor guy. The wedding was on the water. Family was there, all sorts. Carmen and Josh and Janet and Steve. Dan and Brynne and Ben and Erin. Hans. Celia arrived a bit later. The Garmen side too. I had a beverage and grabbed a seat. I drew a bit during the ceremony, and got some photos with my disposable camera. There were family photos too. Big group shots. I was between Honey and Helen...or was I next to Nathan? I forget. I'm slowly moving up to being in wedding photos. Not yet an official bridesmaid. I'm going to more bridal showers too.

The ceremony was nice. Simple, to the point, loving. With the weather holding. Averie was gorgeous. Her dress was a lovely champagne color with an open back and her hair was all tendrils and waves. She looked damn good. Muchim had a nice suit jacket and his vows were written large on a paper towel roll that blew in the wind as it unraveled. A nice, lovely gag. Their sense of humor really showed through. One of those really tender, personal moments that comes through all the tradition.

So happy for Averie and Muchim and all the adventures they will have together!

Post family photos photos we got more drinks and food (it was potluck but with really high caliber people making the food). I nommed down on veggies. I talked to family. Signed the guestbook. Got one last drink and Ma and Pa dropped me off at the Rainier Beach train station because the day before Nathan and Helen's wedding, I bought tickets to see My Brother My Brother and Me & Sawbones live at the Moore Theater. Not on my best behavior to double dip my day like that and leave a big shindig early, but the recording was an event that was super important to me and I'm not much of a dancer at weddings. I kept my leaving on the down low though, didn't want to make it super obvious that I was scooting off.

No one checked my train ticket, but I still bought one. I swung by the Nordstrom bathroom on the way to the venue. My friend Sam met me at the Moore (I bought two tickets) shortly after I arrived. Perfect! I had pretty good seats. Could always be closer though. First up was Sawbones (did I mention these are podcasts? they are podcasts. I highly recommend Sawbones) where they discussed bird diseases. Basically don't eat dried bird poop. Syndee and Justin McElroy were very charming to see in person. There was a brief break and John Roderick played the opening theme for the MBMBaM show (which uses his song for his opening, so that was special). It's so odd because I can't remember most of the show. It was funny, and I loved seeing them up on stage goofing in person, and I remember some of the bits, but I don't know what I could quote exactly! I'm excited to listen to the recording of it. After the show a line formed for meet and greets, and I joined the line. Sam was a good sport about it. He was unfamiliar with both podcasts, but it is a good sign of his character that he is down for something new. I saw Amber Humes in line too! Small world!

I didn't have anything for the Brothers to sign, but I did have the original fan art I did of the Things I Bought At Sheetz so I gave that to Justin and he was really stoked on it. So that was cool! And I got a picture with them and that was that.

There was a 11:15 Seattle/Bainbridge Ferry which worked perfectly for being picked up by the parents. I bid Sam goodnight and walked down to the ferry. Didn't have to run, but I wasn't slow either. My red raincoat did its job. I got my ticket, got a seat, charged my phone, relaxed on the boat, eavesdropped, and before I knew it I was in the van being picked up by Ma and Pa. There were some PAX nerds on the ferry I talked to a bit. They were nice.

At home I slept.

In the morning I showered and had tea and sorted some of Grandma Marilyn's jewelry and Dad worked on my car a bit more (there's been a leaky oil gasket) and we had pancakes. I got home around 3pmish. I did a quick walk up a bit of our road with Celia and hauled branches out of the way. Lots of branches on the road. And I relaxed and got caught up on the internet.

Saturday, August 1, 2015

the 2015 Seattle Art Fair

What an amazing wonderful fun filled day!

My alarm went off at 6:45am. Did not like that one bit. I rolled out of bed at 7:15ish and got showered and made up and put on a nice dress and coordinated my jewelry on the gold side of my collection annnndd I took out my earrings and put on the geometric triangular ones with abstract dangly bits. I think I can declare my ear healed!

Poured out some cheerios and headed out to Bremerton. Got to Karen's with plenty of time to go to the ferry. We walked from her place, much easier than dealing with driving. Today we were going to the 2015 Seattle Art Fair! Which was in the Century Link Exhibition Hall. Lots of galleris bringing art to represent. New art, old art, big sculptures, interactive things. Heather was there representing the gallery she manages/works for Upfor Gallery, and she scored us a couple VIP passes! So rad.

We caught the 9:45, and arrived at the center shortly after it opened. I had a hot dog on the ferry and split some fries with Karen at a food truck just outside the center. Then in we went! Daniel (of Heather and Daniel) was there too. Ahhh the hall was massive, but not crowded! Just the right amount of people were there to create an interesting variety of fashion, but not enough to hinder art access.

There was what I believe to be a Murakami, not a Koonz.

All three Wyeths were represented.

There were so many women artists. Enough that when you saw a painting and saw it was by a woman, it didn't stand out as being one out of 80, ya know?

I treated myself to a deluxe coffee, which has grass fed butter as the cream component. It was so smooth and delicious! Some of the best coffee I've had in a while. Daniel let me have a few bites of his french toast doughnut.

Karen and I got to chat briefly with one artist: Regina Scully, Very dynamic work. Lively, confidant, fun, interesting color schemes. And also almost affordable! There were 500k pieces in the hall, so seeing one for 3k was reasonable. It made me think more about the print I'm adding to my collection and how stoked I am for it.

Also represented and memorable: Masami Teraoka's contemporary Japanese woodblock prints, Popel Coumou's gentle surrealist landscapes, Dutin Yellin's collage work that was layered between sheets of glass which created a three dimensional object when all pressed together. Really something to behold and walk around and look into. The Eulogy by Patricia Piccinini was this very realistic sculpture of a man holding a blobfish. I saw Piccinini's The Hug at the Frye back in 2007. Nice little memory/call back. I took a silly picture with The Eulogy, because I'm a goober. Andrew Stevovich had some great paintings. Very nicely framed with distinct figures. Al Farrow's Wrath & Reverence was a concept we've seen before but executed in the most perfect manner. So perfect that it was refreshed and intelligent. Yeah. Some really good work.

We sat and chatted with Daniel for a bit in the middle of the day, then at the end we got tacos at a food card (me one veggie one shrimp, Karen two veggie and an empanada) and Daniel walked us to the 3pm ferry (Karen had stuff to do). We had a nice journey back. Lots of talk of the new future and what it may or may not bring. I picked up my comic box in the blessedly air conditioned comic shop and went home. Traffic was a bit of a bummer, though no major slow downs. Just cars a plenty.

I watered plants and now it's late and I must sleep. Tomorrow I''ll tidy up and go dog sit! And when I come back, Brynne will be here.

Monday, May 18, 2015

hetch ee double hockey stick ee arrrr

Saturday:

I was browsing through my old blog posts and I used to write such long entries all the time, but I was also doing so much day to day. Going to this class, then lunch, then another class, then hanging out and doing this and that, or going to First Thursday and seeing all this art. I've been out of college for four years now! Wow!

So today was a really fun great day! Saturday that is. I got to sleep in a little bit, then I had some scrambled eggs with chopped up bacon and cinnamon toast. Put on my stripey tights, my pineapple dress, my black hoodie, my leather jacket, my black Palladiums (though thinking about it, my orange high top Palladiums could have been a great way to bring the colors of my dress out, hmmm next ensemble!), and did shimmery eyemakeup with brows and no winged eyeliner. Just a nice look for being out on the town and hanging and being recognizable. I like to dress worthy of being illustrated, if I'm going to be fancy. Can only wear a tee and jeans to so many functions.

I was originally going to take the Bremerton ferry, but reviewed the Bainbridge times and that was equally as good. On the way there I swung by a coffee drive through and got a coffee to break a $20, not knowing that the parking lot at Bainbridge Island has gone automated. When did we stop having to shove dollars into a numbered slot in a metal thingy to pay for parking? Do we still have to in some places? I finished my smoothie (raspberry) and got a coffee at the ferry dock and finished the coffee by the end of the ferry crossing and felt right on the verge of having had too much coffee. I did a drawing on the ferry ride over, but the drawing was a birthday card for Chris (into which I included a shark sticker because that is how I roll).

Arrived to a gray Seattle day, but no rain! And I was glad it was a bit chilly because it it was hot while I suffered up the hill to Capitol Hill area, ohhh that would have sucked. I strode up Marion in full awesome force. Peed in the bathroom at Seattle Library because that coffee went through me like a champ. Nice library. And continued up the blocks. My fitness app actually was like "wow you did some good exercise today!"

The venue wasn't open (The Eclectic Theater) so I met Chris at Stumptown and we hung out on a bench in a park and chatted podcasts, coffee, life stuff. Hungry, we went down the street a bit to Pike Street Fish Fry and both got the battered cod and chips. Scrumptious. Can't beat a good fish n chip. Catching up with Chris is always great. No matter how long its been, we are always able to talk. It's a really good friendship to have. Had a couple beers at Saint John's Bar & Eatery, which featured a bulls head that was shaped out of Rainier cans. Nifty. I was never one to know all the different places to hang. I've always relied on other people's suggestions. I guess in Santa Cruz I knew maybe, like, one place? I know theaters. If there's a theater near by, I know it. That is what I seek out.

With still time to kill, we got shmancy cocktails at Cafe Pettirosso. When am I ever having a fancy cocktail? Almost never. Treat yo self!

Then, finally, venue time! I saw Emily Heller inside the venue and made eye contact but was far too shy to say anything at that moment. Still, how cool! And she, like my Wentworth Miller sighting almost a decade ago, looks exactly the same in person.

The venue was small. Seating for 20ish people. A guy was solving a Rubik's Cube and I complimented him on his nice cube choice (solid colors, no sticker). Nice friendly crowd. Brett Hamil opened. Funny guy. I liked his jokes about forgetting you ate beets the night before. Elicia Sanchez was next and was hilaaarious! Great stage presence and jokes and rhythm with the crowd. I don't think I've ever seen stand up like this. I saw an open mic in Santa Cruz, but that was a series of 2 minute sets. Very different. I liked this size because everyone was there to have fun and were supportive. I don't know if I'd enjoy being in an audience where someone antagonized the performer. I'm here to have fun and enjoy myself, and fighting against the person trying to make that happen seems...weird?

Anyway, Emily Heller was aweeesome! I love her Baby Geniuses podcast that she does with Lisa Hanawalt (hence why I lugged myself all the way out to Seattle for this show). How do I review comedy? She had good jokes. Relevant, relateable, well transitioning jokes. I dug her. And I talked to her a little bit after the show and bought a poster and she signed it and she recognized me from this Instagram post I made earlier in the day about boating to see the show, so THAT was cool! I had a nice moment (I felt) of banter with Mr. Hamil. "Where did you come from?" "Brinnon." "Where's that?" "Near Quilcene." "Where's that?" "Near Chimacum." Heh heh heh. Small towns.

Absolutely wonderful note to end on. Chris hooked me up with the proper bus to take downtown (the 12) and I caught the 9:55 back to Bainbridge Island. It's probably been three years since I last saw Chris. We should hang more. I should go to Seattle more. It's not a bad city. It just takes time and effort and timing and money to get there. But parking in Bainbridge ain't bad.

I didn't drive all the way back to Pulali. I stopped in Suquamish and stayed over at Aaron's. Not too far out of the way. Banjo is a sweet cuddly doggy, but is prone to chewing noisily on a bone in the middle of the night.

Sunday:

Aaron and I got brunch at The Oak Table Cafe in Kingston. I had the eggs casey (and our server was named Casey) which is chopped bacon in eggs on a croissant, drizzled with mushroom sauce. But the side of pancakes was overkill, but Aaron is a good guy and helped finish those off. Well sated, I took a nap while watching Anthony Bourdain on Netflix...still at Aaron's. So polite of me to just hang out with someone and spend the time napping. Hahah. Then I read a bit about geology from Aaron's illustrated copy of A Short History of Nearly Everything. Learned stuff about the weirdo English dudes who started that whole geology as thing stuff. Then I returned to Pulali.

Did laundry, got shows queued up, Interneted, watched Mad Men and was like "well, that show is gone now." A very good full fun weekend. I love getting out of the house, and really need to do it more often. I just can't think of things to do besides watching movies (in terms of activities that get me out of the house. I also scanned my sketchbook.